Home > News > Three Areas Declared as Protected Areas

Three Areas Declared as Protected Areas


The Ministry of Housing, Transport and Environment has declared three new areas as protected areas under the Environment Protection and Preservation Act (Law No. 4/93). The three areas include B. Hanifaru, B. A’ngafaru and a whale shark breeding area near ADh. Maamigili.

The declaration was made by the Minister of Housing, Transport and Environment, Mr. Mohamed Aslam at a press conference held at the Environment Department. The ceremony was attended by the Minister of Fisheries and Agriculture, Dr. Ibrahim Didi and the Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture, Dr. Ahmed Ali Sawad, Commissioner of Police, Mr. Ahmed Faseeh, as well as other senior officials from the Environment and Fisheries ministries.

A detailed announcement was released today which includes more information about these areas. Please click here to view the announcement.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: